Skip to main content

Removing a collaborator from a repository security advisory

When you remove a collaborator from a repository security advisory, they lose read and write access to the security advisory's discussion and metadata.

People with admin permissions to a security advisory can remove collaborators from the security advisory.

Note: This article applies to editing repository-level advisories as a repository owner.

Users who are not repository owners can contribute to global security advisories in the GitHub Advisory Database at github.com/advisories. Edits to global advisories will not change or affect how the advisory appears on the repository. For more information, see "Editing security advisories in the GitHub Advisory Database."

Removing a collaborator from a security advisory

If you remove a user from a repository or organization and the user is also a collaborator on a security advisory, the user will still have access to the security advisory.

  1. On GitHub.com, navigate to the main page of the repository.
  2. Under your repository name, click Security. Security tab
  3. In the left sidebar, click Security advisories. Security advisories tab
  4. In the "Security Advisories" list, click the security advisory you'd like to remove a collaborator from. Security advisory in list
  5. On the right side of the page, under "Collaborators", find the name of the user or team you'd like to remove from the security advisory. Security advisory collaborator
  6. Next to the collaborator you want to remove, click the X icon. X icon to remove security advisory collaborator

Further reading